For the 2017 scholastic season, US Lacrosse allotted seven All-American and seven All-Academic awards to the North Florida boys' award area, which encompasses 45 high school teams. The North Florida area boys' award process was led by the Men's Game Area Chair, Tom West. In addition to the All-American, All-Academic, Bob Scott, and Coach of the Year awards, the North Florida area coaches also selected their Assistant Coach of the Year and Man of the Year awards. Congratulations to the following2017 award winners:

2017 US Lacrosse Boys' High School All-Americans

A US Lacrosse All-American is a player who exhibits superior skills and techniques and possesses exceptional game sense and knowledge, and is considered to be one of the best players in the United States, while also embodying excellent sportsmanship.


Player Name Grad Year High School College
Andrew O'Dare* 2017 Ponte Vedra Towson University
Clay Welch* 2017 Ponte Vedra Mercer University
Gray King 2017 The Bolles School Stevenson University
Matt Keeler 2017 Ponte Vedra University of Indianapolis
Reid Smith* 2017 Ponte Vedra Florida State University
Thad Spiker 2018 Oak Hall School Villanova University (commit)
Tim Van der Linde 2018 Creekside Jacksonville University (commit)


*Two-time All-American

2017 US Lacrosse Boys' High School All-Academic Honorees

A US Lacrosse All-Academic honoree is a player who exhibits exemplary lacrosse skills and good sportsmanship on the field, and represents high standards of academic achievement in the classroom.


Player Name Grad Year High School College
Anderson Gronvold 2017 The Bolles School University of Virginia
Chase Trunnell 2017 Oak Hall School Amherst College
Devin Naidoo 2017 Ponte Vedra New Jersey Institute of Technology
Ethan Hale 2017 Bartram Trail Union College
Evan Oakley 2017 Maclay School Lenoir-Rhyne University
Sean Howard 2017 Nease Florida Southern College
Storm Shalit 2017 Matanzas Ohio Wesleyan University


2017 Bob Scott Award

Named in honor of the legendary coach at Johns Hopkins University, the Bob Scott Award recognizes a player who goes 'above and beyond' in service to his team, school and community.

Congratulations to Ben Wiegel, Creekside H.S. (Florida State University)


2017 Boys Coach of the Year

Congratulations to Max Gurowski, Head Coach, Nease H.S.


2017 Boys Assistant Coach of the Year

Congratulations to Matt Breuer, Assistant Coach, The Bolles School


2016 Man of the Year

Congratulations to Henry Montgomery, Head Coach, Gainesville H.S., and Coaching Education Coordinator, North Florida Chapter of US Lacrosse


Boys High School Award Archives 

2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006